quad deck mapping, what's useful, what's not?
    Tech Mentor

Default quad deck mapping, what's useful, what's not?

Hi All, I've got a mixtrack pro II + a pair of custom midi-fighter clones and want to use it all on traktor with 4 decks. With the custom midifighters I've got a total of 48 inputs I can play with and I can add various combinations of pots, encoders and buttons. I'm new to traktor but not new to dj'ing, so I haven't really explored all of it's features yet.

I'm going to see if I can combine the 3 controllers into a single big map, which would also give me a lot more options, however, I do want to plan ahead to stop this thing becoming a monster.

I can see how to map most stuff, what I'm most interested in is what you guys find essential/annoying about your quad controller setups? If you've got missing buttons/knobs, what would you add to your re-map first?

The first thing I noticed on the mixtrack pro II as a whole was the lack of fine control on the pitch faders and gain pots. I'm looking to add the essential standard stuff first, so that would be the bass/mid/treble EQ pots, headphone cue buttons and level faders for Decks C/D and I'd really like gain pots for all 4 decks too. I'm thinking that having sync/cue/play/stutter for decks C/D would be sensible too.

Tech Mentor

I would advise against putting all 3 controllers in one mapping. It will become very confusing very quickly. Not only that, you'll run out of modifiers before long.
    I also own a Mixtrack Pro 2 (although I am fairly new to djing), and was also thinking about mapping decks c and d to it. One way I thought about was simply have the same controls for deck a and b, plus controls c and d when holding shift. Another way is using the scratch buttons. when they're on, controls are for the normal deck and when off for the c or d deck. The way I do it now is to use my X1 mk2 for some of the c and d tasks.