Controller vs CDJ's?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Controller vs CDJ's?

Guys,

I've been mixing via PC software for a few years, one of the apps was Mixmeister (probably very primitive I know). I'm looking at getting some hardware now and I've been doing a few solid weeks research via the web and a few DJ equipment stores.

Money isn't a massive issue, I'd rather spend a bit more to get decent kit. As a beginner the learning curve is a concern but I'm prepared to spend time to get up to speed....in the short term just a home DJ, longer term at friends parties, etc, - can't see myself doing it in clubs to be honest. Most of my music is via MP3's not really CD's.

I've read loads of posting on Traktor vs Serato, and I'm learning towards Traktor. I was sold on getting a controller, probably the Pioneer DDJ T1, the main issue against was i didn't want to rely on a laptop as my main PC is a desktop and i have an iPad (I was hoping the days on a laptop were gone).

Now I'm learning towards spending the extra money on two Pioneer CDJ-350's and DJM-350. I like the USB stick connect features and the ability to record straight to a USB stick - therefore no laptop required.

I understand people's views will probably be very mixed on whether to go the way of the controller vs CDJ's - but interested to hear your thoughts. Are controllers the way of the future and CDJ's will be left behind...do i need to bite the bullet and get a laptop and get proficient with Traktor Pro now as I will have to one day? Am I losing a lot of functionality by not using software like Traktor? I also realise some people won't be fans of Pioneer as many believe they are overpriced, I guess put aside the brand and it's more about controllers vs CDJ.

Anyway many thanks in advance.
    Johnno