Mixtrack Mapping for Traktor Pro(4 hot cues,encoder loop size)+mixtrak button legend
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Mixtrack Mapping for Traktor Pro(4 hot cues,encoder loop size)+mixtrak button legend

Well.. first of all, this is just my second post in here. As a little introduction, I've been bedroom dj'ing for two months or so, so I'm still a noob in a lot of ways. I started Dj'ing using virtual Dj 7 using only a Numark X1USB Mixer plus my keyboard. Then I got my mixtrack a few days after new years and I used virtual DJ 7 with a custom mapping I made until I decided to try Traktor seriously.

What I first encountered with upon facing traktor was the absolute nightmare mapping seemed, so I looked in here for a few custom mappings that might be of any use to my style. In the end, the only one I was somehow satisfied with was Tgunn897's mapping but I had a hard time making it work.. actually, I couldn't lol. But it gave me a few ideas and guidelines about how to map stuff. So after 2 or 3 days I'm finally done with my custom mapping.

I first made myself a map as to know which button or encoder was what in Traktor's language, so here it is for any of you who needs it.

[ame="http://s32.photobucket.com/albums/d29/thepancaker/?action=view&current=MixtrackButtonMap.jpg"]MixtrackButtonMap.jpg picture by thepancaker - Photobucket[/ame]
    I missed two leds on the diagram, but the "Folder LED" is G8 and the "File LED" is "F#8".

So, what's so interesting about this mapping?

- I like selecting a loops size by turning an encoder. Can't stand doubling or halving buttons. So I mapped the "select encoder" to cycle through loop sizes on the fly.
    - Since I select loop size with the encoder, I only need "loop in" and "loop out" (for manual loops) and "loop set" buttons (for automatic loops in conjunction with said encoder).
    - I wanted to be able to use each's deck filter, so I just used TGunn's mapping for that.