the BREC-H DIY controller project
    Tech Convert

Default the BREC-H DIY controller project

Hello, I am new to this forum and also controllerism/DJ-ing. New in the sense that I've never played a set (unless you count helping a DJ at a family friends wedding, when I was 12). I have been fascinated by the scene for ages, but have never really done anything about it except download demos of DJ and audio production programs (deckadance, cue, tractor, fruity loops). Hopefully I'll be ready to perform soon, but first, I need some hardware. I stumbled upon this site a few weeks ago and as a mechanical engineering student, I figured I'd take the opportunity to make my own 2 deck mixer with the option of expandability. I could have started with the DJ 101 or something, but having some experience with electronics and such, I wanted to do a little more complex with more flexibility. So I've drawn up a rough draft of the controls I want and how to to implement them. In the coming weeks I'll share all I can and probably ask a lot of questions too!

I'm calling the project the BREC-H, for BrainRush's Expandable Controller- HID.

The design goals for this project are:
    -create and easy to use controller
    -have it be easily expandable
    -affordable to build
    -easy to build
    -robust and functional

The price for materials is a "soft" $200, meaning that I can go over budget, but there shouldn't really be any reason to.

I've already bought quite a few parts, most are in the mail, including 8 pots, 5 faders some arcade buttons, some material to build a case, and parts for my 2 decks.

I am looking forward to the next few weeks!

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

Welcome. make sure you check out thelpb's thread

http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16735
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

welcome to the forums brainrush.