Novation Nocturn mappings for Traktor Pro
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Novation Nocturn mappings for Traktor Pro

Thought I'd share this one. I've recently bought a Nocturn for my home studio, but figured it might work as a DJ controller for Traktor.

After messing around a bit I've got it set-up pretty nicely.

It's based around a 4 Midi channel setup of the Nocturn, using the groups to split some key functionalities.

Here's the files:
    - Installation Guide and mappings overview
    - Automap files for each MIDI channel
    - TSI for Traktor Pro

I just picked up a Nocturn for a little production work (only to find out it is awkward in Kontakt 4 Player...) and got excited to try this TSI. Thanks for putting together this for us.

My experience so far:
    As I'm new with Automap, it took me a while to figue out how to swap Midi channels and get one on each button. But after that the mapping loads easily enough, and the TSI loaded perfectly.

So I loaded two tracks, synced them, hit play on the first and at the appropriate time hit play on track two. But over anxiously I hit track two a little early, not problem right just nudge it back in time? No nudge in the mapping. Yes I could have gone back and re-sync, but after such a basic tool was missing, I went off the idea. I quickly realized that I would miss jog wheels (and I am not a TT guy at all).

Eventually I could see myself programming effect presets to the Nocturn, but for the time being it will be production only.

CHeers, Phil.
    MBP 10.6; Itch 2.2; Novation Twitch; TP 2.x; MF Classic; Ultrasone DJ1 Pro
    Apogee Duet 2; Reason; Ableton 8; 49SL MkII; Maschine Mikro; Launchpad

Tech Student

Thanks for the feedback. Nudge is indeed not yet mapped, I'll add this to the TSI.

Tech Student

Dear Motoko,