Stanton SCS3 vs VCI-100 vs VMS4
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Stanton SCS3 vs VCI-100 vs VMS4

I've tried talking to friends in the business, and on a couple other forums, but they don't fully seem to understand what I'm talking about with a fully digital MIDI setup. A lot of them are just recommending an X1 and "go get real vinyl" and that's not what I am personally looking for at the moment.

I'm planning on getting one of these three systems; more likely than not. The Stanton SCS3 System, the VCI-100SE, or the American Audio VMS4. My price point for the controller itself is 500-600 dollars, adding software and audio interface after the fact.

I've pretty much settled down with using Traktor. I've some experience with SSL, but as with SSL I wouldn't be able to use the jog wheels, I'm going to have to pass on that for now.

I've been lurking on these forums for a bit, and only recently posted a couple little things. And these are the questions that are burning in my mind.

My direction is to bring a fully digital setup to a wedding/dance, house party, or potentially into a club in the far future. My immediate goal is to get my own equipment so I can spend more time beat matching and really getting into the thick of mixing at the correct moments. I primarily want to spin DnB/House/Dubstep, but also plan on making a push at some top 40 stuff. I want something mobile, and so a MIDI controller seems like a perfect solution.

So what I'm looking for is feedback from folks who have tried these systems out. I know the VMS4 isn't released yet, but the 4 channel built in mixer along with the other features has really got my eyes going.

So here's my pro's and con's list so far:

Stanton SCS3 System

Pro's:
    -It's really innovative.
    -It's modular in design, so I could use it as a stand alone controller if I ever decide to go to a different setup.
    -Touchpads lead to a lot of very interesting and unique combinations.
    -Allows for an external Audio Interface